Swelling while suffering?

I’m still new to all this TN, but have learned I have both TN and ATN. Luckily, my symptoms are on one side, chin and jaw - back to about my second molar. As I’m having more frequent episodes, I’ve noticed my nose goes numb (which oddly makes it ‘itch’) and may very well be triggering more symptoms. Learning and more learning…

Brings me to my question: I have a knot that gets in my jaw/cheek during a TN attack. Normal? Also, since I’ve had this last episode lasting two weeks, I’ve noticed that there is a knot I can run my finger across inside my mouth along the gumline. When I touch it, I get a shock. There is also a knot on the cheek/chin area that is not on my jaw, but they are both in the same place.

On another note: having another peeling/hive/ itching reaction to my gabapentin (which the neuro assured me was not caused by the drug!). The oxcarbapentin created horrible leg and back pain, but definitely worked better on the TN pain.

Words of wisdom and experience needed…

THANKS EVERYONE!

I’ll also add I have a neuro follow up next week after 3 normal MRI sessions

I’ve had all sorts of reactions to the medicines we tried. I went stupid on Tegretol, I went cross-eyed on neurontin which is gabapentin, i swear, i could hardly see anything… lyrica made me numb, etc. Not common side effects for these drugs but I know my body and know when it’s reacting to something new.

My symptom, when i get it on the nose, is something very similar to drinking coke and it going up your nose. OUCH!

Krystal, I don’t get knots, but I do have constant swelling on my cheek, especially along the fold that runs along the side of my nose. I don’t get the shocks when I touch it though. It’s just kind of sore, like there is inflammation in the tissue there.