Bells Palsy and TN

Is there any other TN suffers out there that have also had Bells Palsy???

I've had two Bells Palsy attacks 7 years apart on either side of my face and the most recent being two years ago on the same side I am suffering TN.

Just wondering if there is anyone else around like me or am I weird like my nurologist is telling me :)

I’ve been talking with facial pain patients for about 15 years, Shannon. The total by now is well over 2,000. During that time, there have been a few who have reported having been diagnosed with Bells Palsy. One of the complicating factors in this combination is that it isn’t always obvious that the patient had TN in the first place. Could you summarize for me the kind of pain you had when you were diagnosed with TN?

Regards and best,
Red Lawhern, Ph.D.

No you are not weird and I am glad to know now that I am not either! I had Bells Palsy about 25 years ago on the same side as my TN.

I don’t have Bells Palsy and TN but interesting enough, my sister has had Bells Palsey on both sides of her face, about two years apart. She has drooping on both sides although one side is worse than the other. Her right eye waters constantly and she can’t smile without it looking more like a grimace. I know that some people recover 100 percent but she’s been told that her current condition is as good as it’s ever going to get.

What about you, Shannon? Do you have lasting effects from the Bells palsy?