I am a teacher. Back to school time equals back to stress

Naturally my TN is worse. I generally know how to deal with it. I also have hyperacusis, which I understand is fairly common with TN. Anybody else got it? Any tips for handling it?

Hey Kudasai,
TN has been one of my diagnosis after a few neurosurgeries. I’ve also had many issues regarding my hearing but never been told I have hyperacusis. I know, for me, loud noise certainly can be a trigger for a nauseating headache. I was told I ‘maybe’ hypersensitive but never had that confirmed. I have a few triggers, so trying it pinpoint a single cause is near on impossible. For me it seems it’s a combination of triggers, my hearing being just one.

As a music teacher, having issues with hearing would make things extra difficult. When it’s ‘music’ that can be pleasant, when it’s a bunch of instruments, all doing their own thing… I couldn’t manage that.

I think we should be asking you the question. How do you do it?? :smile:

Merl from the Modsupport Team

1 Like

Hi
I have hyperacusis after mvd surgery for tn. I had a musicians ear plug made by an audiologist. It decreases the loudness by 15% which helps. But it also decreases hearing in noisy places. Becomes a choice. I hope that helps.

1 Like

Thank you! Just knowing that someone else has the same problem helps.
I will consider ear-plugs.

Just the ear with the hyperacusis uses the plug. I also try to sit near a wall in a booth or by what seems like a quieter table at a restaurant with my hyperacusis ear turned as much away from the loudness as possible. I also ask my partner to walk on my “good” side. It is nice to know I’m not the only one, either!

My ATN was caused by a rogue bone in my neck called Eagle syndrome….it caused teeth, head, neck pain and problems with my ears. Keep a diary to find out what helps you discomfort or makes your symptoms worse….this can help alot

1 Like

Thanks

BIG +1 regarding this suggestion.