At Wit's End

I have been soldiering through this for coming up a year. All along I have been convinced it is TN, but the chief neurologist on base has settled with a diagnosis of postherpetic neuralgia, in that I may have had shingles without a rash. I have had 2 MRIs that are unremarkable and tired several different meds. Lyrica is the one we settled on at 400mg. This dosage just dials down the pain. Any higher dose and I am out in LaLa Land. I am an artist and art teacher, so most folks don't see much a difference, but seriously, I should not be driving or teaching your kids. For some reason, the pain, which is on the right side, has come back with a vengeance in the past 2 weeks-knife stabs in my ear along with bee stings in my cheek, and burning drips in my chin and lips. Tomorrow I have another appointment on base. Is there any meds that work for you. Tegretol made me violently ill. Thanks, Mary

A lot of patients do better on Trileptal or Neurontin than they did with Tegretol. It may be worth discussion with the neurologist.

Has anybody had any luck with Trileptal?

I've talked with several people who got pain relief from Trileptal with fewer side effects that usually attend Tegretol. Trileptal was "designed" for this combination.