Trigeminal neuralgia oeration

Hi All, I am having a nerve burn done on the 26th of April. Can any one give me any feed back ASAP> Thanks in advance for any help you can pass along.

Hi,

About 2 yrs ago I had my nerve cortorized about "65%" I'm told. The good result lasted about 4 mths for me. I have TN1.But, I do believe that the results vary per person.

Jackie

I don't know. I haven't had anything besides meds. My neurosurgeon and I decided that when meds don't work much, then we will do the MVD. But I just wanted to say good luck to you!

I would NOT have any nerve burn unless you First send a message to the moderator RED --- He is all knowing here!!!!!

I will also message him your link here.

Dancer's comment made me smile. I'm no oracle, though I've been talking with face pain patients for about 18 years and I'm well studied in medical literature for this field.

If you are talking about RF Rhizotomy, then the procedure has a good record of outcomes for a lot of people. Some papers in medical literature indicate initial success rates of 85-90% for full or major partial pain relief, with about 50% of all patients remaining pain free after seven years. If you're going to have the procedure done, then be sure the physician who does it has done a lot of them before (like 20-30 per month in TN patients). Be aware also, that the procedure has better outcomes for patients with Type I (Typical) TN than for Type 2 (Atypical). A lot of neurosurgeons won't do this procedure for people with atypical pain, because there are reasons to believe that this type of pain has a systemic or central Nervous System character that is less susceptible to relief from a discrete lesion being created on the nerve.

If you want to add details, then friend me and send email to my site address or ■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■

Regards and best,

Red Lawhern, Ph.D.

Resident Research Analyst