Transdermal Therapeutics

I saw my neuro and he prescribed the following facial cream:

Ketamine 10%, Baclofen 2%, Gapapentin 6%, Imipramine 3%, Nifedipine 2%, Tetracaine 2%. I apply 1 to 2 pumps (grams) to the affected area.

Has anyone used anything like this? I find that it helps just a tiny bit. I use 3-4 times a day. Any thoughts?

My pharmacist told me about this just the other day. I may ask about this next time I go to my neuro...........6 months unless needed before then. If it helps, I would use it! Does is smell?

No, it does not smell.

Unde the groups tab - there is a Topical Meds group who might have used this

I have only used lidocaine cream and lidocaine patches -- patches work best for me - stronger and longer

Ketamine is a VERY powerful drug

I'm glad it helps you a little bit -- some people are alergic to some of these things.

I've been using this concoction for about 8 years. I only use it when things get really bad, my muscle tightens up and the main is immeasurable. I used to use it more regularly, and it does work. Mine is not exactly the same, but has ketamine 10; Balcofen 2; Gabapentin 6; and some kind of buphocaine (sp?)... I started a group on here entitled "rx creme for facial pain"... or something like that a year or more ago.

This is my 13th year with TN and AD. I've had Gama Knife and an MVD that failed miserably. I have genocular (ear) pain, mandibular pain an then some octipal pain that I got after the MVD. Its a numb yet painful.