Neurontin

So I started neurontin today and Im starting just one pill for 3 days, then 2 pills for 3 days, and then a pill every 8 hours. I felt a little loopy today and my face is still bothering me. I know it will take time to have an affect. I was wondering if anyone who is taking it could let me know if the loopy feeling will go away and how long it took for it to have any positive results on getting the symptoms of Atypical TN to fade away. I work in the medical field and if the side effects from the pills wont go away there is no way I can stay on them. I will have to talk to my doctor about another option. Im not ready to take the leap into having any procedures done as of yet so are there any other options?

Hi,

I too got started on Neurontin, but much more. You should get used to that much up until the every 8 hour mark. After that feeling loopy after that might be a problem. Every body is different and you will respond different than I did. I finaly had to go on Tegrotol not so much for the loopy...but for the pain. But I was able to function better too. I finally got to the point where I had to have the surgery. In fact...this past monday morning. Oh my god...no pain. I'm a guy but I cried when I was able to eat with no pain.

Hang in there and make sure you are seeing a Neurologist, this can be an aweful beast to fight.

Just my thoughts

Each time I went up a dose I got the loopy feeling but for me it went away within a few days. I actually Had better luck with trileptal for pain and the first time i took it was at night and it might have made me a little tired but not loopy. If your side effects dont go away, ask about Trileptal if you haven't taken it already. Good Luck! :)