How to do a PhD with TN

OK, you should not do a PhD unless you want to be a researcher, really not! But I always did, and so I began this route into academia.

I am an archaeologist. My dad is a professor in dentistry, so I always visited him on the job, and when I was a kid he used to do 'experiments' with me in the lab. I remember when I used to walk between the university buildings as a high school student, thinking that they would all think I was a student (although I doubt they thought much about me at all). I knew I would be going to uni, but I somehow that is still a mystery to me, started studying law, and so ended up on the classy, downtown campus between the pearl earrings and ralph lauren shirts - me, with what we called 'freaker' clothes, simply the weirdest clothes you can imagine; a sort of cross between boheme and grandmother style.Needless to say, I did not fit in.

I trudged on for a few years. In fact, for four and a half years. I never really got to know anyone, but I had all my old friends right there in the city, so I ghdidn't really worry, and I was quite prejudiced about my posh peers. The last year, I knew I was going to quit, and my exams wenrt horribly. My analytical brain was not well suited for citing rules and interpreting them correctly, I was way more interested in the society behind the rules. At the same time, my little sister, 12 yrs old, started talking about becoming an archaeologist. I was so happy for her! A while later, she of course changed her mind, and I was really sad about it. And that got me thinking - maybe it was me who should become an archaeologist.