Houston we have TN Problem

Morning everyone,

I am pretty new to the support site. I live in North Louisiana. And I am having trouble finding a doctor that knows how to treat TN. I am pretty sure that mine happened from an accident I had a month ago. I tripped and slammed the right side of my face onto concrete at Target. My symptoms first started two weeks after the accident when I would smile or grimace. Then progressed with throbbing of my cheek, felt like someone was stabbing in my eye...my nose swells.....I swear I could be Owen Wilson's sister in the afternoon.....Then I get these horrendous headaches.....I have Migraines anyway that I have had for 20 plus years. I am a medical coder and can hardly stand to look at my computer when this hits. So this morning I accidently hit the right side of my face.....So the throbbing has started.....

Also have ADD ...so if I jump around that is why ...please forgive me....I can't find any doctors that we have that treat for TN here in North Louisiana.....Any suggestions? Also have TMJ dysfunction....

Does anyone know if you injury this particular nerve will it heal itself or will I have to live with this forever?

Clueless in Louisiana!

Thanks again everyone!

Kayla

Not sure. You could have possibly just injured a nerve when you fell. Maybe you'll get lucky and it won't be TN and it will heal itself.

I hope you are right… Hard to to think positive when your face and head are throbbing and I can’t seem to think at all!

You may have to cross a state line! I went from Missouri to Kansas to get my neurologist to diagnose.... Then a year later flew to Michigan to the top surgeon to make it go away.

Best way to manage this progressive disease - if you have it, is to get started skimming thru the book

"our bible of TN'

"Striking Back" by Dr. Ken Casey

Get a highlighter out - and what you want personal perspective on - mark it up and come here and ask!