Help!

I had Gamma Knife back in June of this year and have gotten worse ever since. TN is on left side of face, shingles outbreak occurred 2 weeks after gamma knife on opposite side of head...ever since, I've not gotten much better. I'm a professor at a University and am about to make a decision to take a leave of absence for spring semester if things do not improve. I've lost weight, I'm emotional every time I talk about my health (oh, I've been a Type I, Insulin dependent diabetic for 28 years now (I'm currently 35)---fortunately, my diabetes has been under control through all of this. My biggest thing for the last couple months that's getting worse is swelling on the entire left side of head (where TN is located---I have in all 3 branches). The swelling isn't just where gamma rays went in---rather, it is above eye brow, under nose, cheeks, AND where rays went in. I see another neurosurgeon next Friday (a week from now) to talk about options as I can't live like this and need/want my life back. Anyone else experience swelling---again, not just where gamma rays went in but other places as well on face/head? I wouldn't care about the swelling itself but the swelling/pressure causes my TN to act up (which doesn't go away...it is ALWAYS there...nothing periodic like some others experience), plus is giving me a headache. Dr's have tried steroids but nothing helps. HELP! ADVICE? I'm getting so depressed and feel like sleeping more than anything else as that is the ONLY time I feel "good".

That sounds terrible,im so sorry.My Gamma Knife in July was successful and i don't think i had any swelling.What did the Neuro or Dr. that did the procedure say?I know they can do it twice if needed.I hope you get some helpful comments here and find some relief soon.