Can a virus cause TN?

I am a police officer and came into contact with a transient that was visibly ill. A few days later, I came down with a virus. As the virus was winding its way through me, I had typical fever, rash, and then I developed a terrible headache that ran from my ear and into my jaw and behind my eye.

I was lucky enough to have a doctor identify right away that I had TN. This was as the virus was almost gone. Fast forward a while and I had MVD. The neurosurgeon found that two arteries were wrapped up in my trigeminal nerve. The MVD worked for the most part. I still have attacks every once in a while, but no where near the severity of what it was. This is manageable.

I feel that the virus was the cause of the TN. But, I can’t find any medical studies that show that. Could that virus have caused the TN? Any studies out there that you can point me in the right direction?

Hi Keith, go back to what most TN is physically; being a blood vessel rubbing on the Trigeminal nerve. The virus caused fever so your blood vessels could have? Swelled to rub on the nerve. Thereby causing the pain. Suggest you take a course of B12 to build up your nerve sheaths. This has helped me enormously. My GP gives me a blood test annually to check level of B12. It’s water soluble so your body will wash out what it does not want. I took 1000mcg day for a couple of years before I could say it really made a difference. Hope this helps. GP