Botox, anyone?

Hi! I have type1 TN pretty straightforward, for 2years. I read that Botox injections to the nerve could be beneficial. Has anyone heard of this?

Please run the term "Botox" in the search window at the top right of the page. You'll get a ton of discussion comments.

Regards, Red

Hello, I’ve been using the migraine protocol with botox since 2009. It is wonderful as a migraine prevention, and for tn, some, not all, of the nerve is paralyzed and rendered immovable and painless. There are parts of the nerve that needs oral meds to .be less painful. I hope this may be something that helps you!

Thanks!

LyndaS said:

Hello, I’ve been using the migraine protocol with botox since 2009. It is wonderful as a migraine prevention, and for tn, some, not all, of the nerve is paralyzed and rendered immovable and painless. There are parts of the nerve that needs oral meds to .be less painful. I hope this may be something that helps you!

hey,

i was offered botox. the doctor didn't really thought it would help - but the offer is on the table. it's for the muscle spasm.

why do you think in your case botox would benefit. do you feel the muscle spasm ?

i "laughted" with my doctor and told him that i work with 50-60 years old ladys in my office - and i'll be the first of them to do Botox.

good luck

Hi,
It would be for pain only,as far as I know. With luck, would not effect the muscle movement. As far as I can tell, if injected correctly,could “kill”'the nerve, only affecting sensation. For as long as the botox is in your system.
It is funny to think about it! I am totally anti-Botox-frozen face!!

Nir Morita said:

hey,

i was offered botox. the doctor didn’t really thought it would help - but the offer is on the table. it’s for the muscle spasm.

why do you think in your case botox would benefit. do you feel the muscle spasm ?

i “laughted” with my doctor and told him that i work with 50-60 years old ladys in my office - and i’ll be the first of them to do Botox.