A Newbie Introduction

So, let's try out this blog thing. As my username suggests, I am a student. I'm 26 years old and finishing up my first semester in nursing school, an entry level Master's degree, and am doing very well. Hopefully the pain and the medications for the pain do not ruin that for me.

Anyway, my first real 'attack" started on Nov. 4, 2013 and like so many, I thought it was a tooth problem or a sinus infection. I started using Sensodyne to brush my teeth and made sure I was taking all my allergy medication. By Wednesday, after having been woken up both Monday and Tuesday night crying in pain, I knew I had to get to a doctor. Luckily, I got an appointment for the next day.

Wouldn't you know it, I DID have a sinus infection. Obviously that was the cause of this horrific pain. I got started on an antibiotic, asked if I wanted narcotics until it kicked in, and was sent home. I started the antibiotics, not thinking that the sinus issue was the real culprit after having done some searching around the internet on my own. I thought, and told the doctor, that it was TN. She responded that she didn't want to give me meds for nerve pain because of the side effects and really thought it was my sinuses.

The weekend came and went. I went to class on Friday and somehow made it through. I worked Saturday night and spent a good portion in pain and taking way too many NSAID's and using my lidocaine solution way too often as well as sneaking away to get a good cry in. I came home from work Sunday morning and took enough Percocet and alcohol to put out a small army and slept for a few hours before the pain was back.

I hardly slept at all Sunday night. While I was at school Monday, taking an exam no less, my dad was on the phone with my doctor. I went straight from school to get an x-ray of my jaw. There was a sinus infection, but that was not causing my pain. Not only that, I didn't have an abscessed tooth either.