30 years old, Newly diagnosed and very depressed...HELP

Hi everyone,

My name is Liz and I am only 30 years old. I just got diagnosed this past friday and it has made me one of the saddest people around. I had a deep filling done 3 weeks ago and last week (2 weeks to the day of having the filling done) a throbbing pain on the right side of my face / jaw awoke me from a dead sleep. It waxed and waned over the next 3 days but on friday, it became constant. I am horrified to be one of the people to get this. It is supposed to be so rare and I ask "why me, God?" I am a physical therapist, group exercise instructor, a mom to 1 and 3 year olds, and a wife. How did this happen? I have been scouring the internet for information which can be good and bad but I had no where else to turn. I want to know a few things:

How can I cope with this?

Can I ever be happy again?

Do the meds actually help significantly? Or do they make you feel so bad you can't even take care of your kids, work, exercise, etc?

Can atypical TN be treated very effectively? With meds? With surgery?

Do MRI's always show whether or not a vessel is wrapped around the nerve?

Will they still do surgery even with a neg MRI?

Do you always have to try meds first?

How long should you wait prior to opting for surgery? Is it ever "too late"?

How common is it to get it on both sides of the face b/c that is my next worry?

I am only 30...does this mean there's a good chance I have MS as well? I don't have other symptoms I should add.

I REALLY NEED SOME ATYPICAL TN SUCCESS STORIES RIGHT NOW B/C I HAVE NOT FOUND MANY OF THOSE ONLINE.

Somebody please help :(

Thank you all,

God Bless you,

Liz

Hi Liz, welcome ! Sorry you have to be here, but it’s great to have a place for support.
I can’t offer many answers to your questions, but I can tell you that for me meds worked immediately to relieve the pain when I was first dx. ( i was around your age at dx , with 2 young daughters at the time )