Tegretol XR

Hey. I am really new to this TN mess (the nice word I have for it). I was diagnosed on Jan 8, 2014. Its one of those things I don't think I will ever forget. He said you have Trigeminal Neuralgia. I was like I have tri what? So he put me on Tegretol. It wasn't working. Went to dentist and the neurologist. So anyways, The neuro suggested Tegretol XR. He said something about the other Tegretol, that I was having a toxic something or other. I was in pain I can't really remember. So my question is, which I have many but will stick with this one, does anyone else take Tegretol XR and keep a headache or have migraines with it? Since I started it, I cant get rid of this headache and in less than a week I've had 2 migraines. Doesn't sound like a lot but it is. Thanks for reading and taking the time to answer those who do. :)

Sorry, my reaction was a sun/med rash. Which I still have three months after switching drugs. Maybe talk to your pharmacist? Also Trileptal might be another choice, I've been told it is similar, but with fewer side effects.

A sorry welcome to this exclusive but hated "club."

I was on tegretol for about a month. It worked right away but then just stopped working. It left me cloudy and lethargic, even just on a small dose. I switched to trileptal which I had much better results with. I had no side effects at all with trileptal and was almost instantly out of pain- with just a small dose. Both of these meds mess with your sodium levels and can become toxic. So that is why brood draws need to happen every few months. I do not remember having headaches while getting adjusted to tegretol but I think it would be something to talk to your dr about. Does the bottles side effects mention anything about headaches?

Finding out the diagnosis can be the best and worst moment. Being newly diagnosed and so young you have many options available to you. So hopefully now you can just move forward in a pain free direction :)