Possible MVD

I am headed to see a neurosurgeon tomorrow.(Dr. Casey) I have had tn for 3 1/2 years and it has progressed rapidly the last year.I am very nervous. I have done research and read stories about mvd. Surgery is not what anyone wants but I feel that living on meds will only last so long since this disorder is progressive Any advice I should consider or any questions I should ask please share with me. I am currently reading Striking Back I know every mvd is different and he may not think I am a candidate but something has to be done I want my life back my kids want their mom back and I have a job I dont want to give up...Luckily I am a teacher and I am done for the summer I barely made it throw the last two months of school as I have not had much relief from the pain

Please share anything I may want to ask the Dr or consider

Thank you

Andria

Hi, By all accounts you will be seeing one the best neurosurgeons there is. Very experienced. If it's fixable, he'll fix it.

You are right, in my estimation, about the Med's. They work for some and for others not so much or can be ( as was my case) very debilitating. MVD surgery has a high success rate and low complications. I had mine about a year ago and have had no TN pain since.

The only advice befroe your visit would be to have someone with you ( if possible) to "pick up" on things you might miss as far and Q and A goes.Also write down your questions. Ask him how many MVD's he does every year and how many in total he's done. That should help you feel more confident, as I know he is one of the most experienced MVD surgeons on the planet.

Please try and focus on your new pain free life after your MVD surgery. I can tell you it's a blessing

Good luck

I am going to see him on the 25th,I haven't went either and don't have anything to share other than let us know how it goes!

Where is Dr Casey located ?

Trenton,MIchigan....southern suburb of Detroit......