Non-Medication Treatment?

Anyone have any success stories with this? Meditation, yoga, massage, anything?

If they have, I want to know so I can try them!

Yes, I get the best results if I combine different approaches - massage (full body and facial), mineral and vitamin supplements (especially magnesium), reasonable diet and a little bit of exercise - even just a walk. As much as I find it difficult to go outside on some days, I feel that I benefit from the sun light and fresh air when I do. I think a lot of chronic pain patients find meditation helpful, also Cognitive-Behavioural Therapy may work for some. Hope this helps. Take care,Oldriska

I totally forgot to mention acupuncture! Last summer it was a life saver for me (although each time it gave me only temporary relief, but it was much needed!)

I'm also interested to know. I'm new to this disease and absolutely detest being on meds. I live a clean life, am a vegetarian (except sometimes fish), fitness instructor, etc. I realize that this disease means a lifetime of meds and/or surgery but I want to minimize the amount of drugs I am on in any way I can. I'm waiting to receive my Striking Back book and will read it cover to cover, probably within a day or two after it comes in the mail. I found a homeopath Dr in my town that I'm thinking of going to. Would love to know if any of you have tried herbs, other supplements or any other complimentary treatments.

Thanks for posting all these great topics!

Be ware - there are many "supplements" targeted for chronic pain that are bogus. Getting off the drugs - I used Lidocaine topical and Reiki sessions to prepare for my MVD. Great combo!