Glands and temple pain and more

Hi

As a newby I am still learning all the delights this wonderful condition gives you. I have wandered through most of the discussions etc., but see little mention of some of the symptoms I am suffering from. Besides unbelievable jabs of pain in my upper and lower jaw on two specific teeth (one of which has been missing for a long time) I also have pain which causes the gland in my neck behind my jaw to become seemingly very tender. This pain is echoed by a pulsating pain in my temple which must be linked as it seems to pulse in ryhthm with the same pulse rate in my neck gland. At the same time the area above my ear, on the same side, seems more swollen and extremely tender although in reality I do not think it changes at all. I also seem to go deaf in the same ear and the pain moves from the lower jaw to the upper jaw and then localises on one area radiating outward with waves of the sharpest pain.

These occurences are infrequent (three or four a day) but last up to two hours or even more. I may just have gotten used to them and they are still there in between but at a lower level. Add to this nausea and intense pressure and pain in my jaw area up to my ear and you are getting close to the things I am experiencing.

Am I an enigma again or are there others like me? Cynicism rules ok!

Greg

Hi Greg,

I also have pain in my temple but not ear. My TN doesn’t affect my jaw very much, the pain is in my gum and around my mouth normally. Althoug I do feel shocks occasionally along jawbone or near my eye.

Hi Greg,

You’re not alone with the enigma tag. I dread going to the Doctors, I seem to walk away with more problems than I went in with… hohum…
The neck pain could well be part and parcel of TN, but it’s probably best not to assume, probably worthwhile checking with your doc.
Same thing with your ears, if it was just pain then it could be TN related as i believc there is a branch of the T nerve which loops back around the ear.