A Rant and Some Questions

First, I just want to say thank you to those who have commented on my page with supportive and kind words. This has not been an easy several months for me and it's been difficult to talk to friends and family when they just don't understand.

Since the neurologist wrote my pain off as psychogenic, I've been doubting my own experience, wondering if I did, indeed, mentally and emotionally wind myself up into a frenzy of pain and discomfort. I'm a psychology student, so not unlike medical students who develop some level of hypochondria learning about diseases, I've been questioning my sanity and whether or not this has all been a somatoform disorder. Like Red pointed out on my page, however, there is no academic literature(conducted after the 80's) proving that anxiety or depression can cause neuralgia – of any kind. I have pored through the databases I can access through school and have found NOTHING to support my neurologist's claim that my pain has been caused by anxiety. The fact that I have not even been suffering from anxiety recently only adds to the obvious case that this is real.

In order to weed out what symptoms are/could be related to trigeminal neuralgia and what aren't, I'm wondering how many of you have had similar experiences to mine:

I recently turned 30. From what I've read, TN normally affects older adults. Did anyone else's symptoms start this early or do you know of cases striking younger individuals?

My pain started in the left ear – stabbing shooting pains occurring at seemingly random times. (I thought it might be geniculate neuralgia. Do any of you also suffer from this?)

The original pain was replaced by dull pain in and around my left ear and a temporary muffled/full feeling.

I began having electric shock sensations in my left cheek along with an uncomfortable tingling that felt like novacaine wearing off. The pain later began effecting the left side of my nose, scalp, mouth and eye.