TENS Units

Hey All

Just wondering if anyone had used or heard of TENS units and what you thought of them? Thinking of getting one and thought I would check with you all first...

Hey Girl,
Yes I’ve used it before. I liked it and think it helped. My chiro used it on me. Feels kinda weird. One time it triggered an attack so just be careful how high you turn it up. You may need to slowly build up to it. You def can’t use it while you are in pain…it has to be while you are feeling good. I’m no pro I just think that way would be the safest way to start. When I researched it in the past I found this post from a guy with TN. He was using it often and one day by accident he turned it way up or fell asleep with it on (I can’t remember which one) but once he realized and shut it off he never had pain again. I’m NOT suggesting you do that (lol )I am just saying people do use it for TN and it has worked for some. It’s a zappy little machine…I would test it out on another body part before you use it on your face. My chiro but it on diff parts of my face and also a pad behind my ear where the root of the nerve runs.Maybe you can find one at a local chiro to try before you invest in one. They are used to treat all kinds of pains so it shouldn’t be hard to find one to test out.Good luck!

Hi Michaela, I have one for treatment on my arm. They’re supposed to make the nerves feel better, at least that’s what my last physical therapist said. I stopped using it, it seemed to aggravate the nerve after a while. Do you have a neurologist to check with?

Julie Nolte said:

Michaela,

I’m having surgery in the next month (hopefully) to have a Facial Nerve Stimulator connected to my trigeminal nerve. I’m going to keep everyone updated. I’m told it’s a new procedure, only two others have had this.
It’s kind of like a TENS unit, I’m told.