New to TN

Hello All

I am very new to TN and before last weekend had never heard of it! For the last month or so I was feeling off with a low grade headache and some tooth pain, or so I thought. After seeing my dentist after dealing with a lot of pain, he told me my teeth look great and there isn't anything wrong with them. So I came home and lived on Tylenol for a couple of weeks. Then on the weekend it happened, and I can only describe the pain as coming from nowhere on the left side of my face including behind my eyes. It felt to me like 15 root canals all firing off at once. I couldn't talk and tears were coming down my face. My husband felt utterly helpless and scrambled to find me some type of stronger pain reliever in the house. I took it and an ativan ( all I could find ) and it made me a bit dopey but that was it. Then another blast a few hours later. The next day I took it easy. Then the next night here we go again! Clearly something was wrong.

Luckily I was able to get an appt with my GP right away and she figured it out. I had also done some googling, something I never want to substitute for professional advice, and realized I was textbook TN.

I've started on Gabapentin 2x a day and in 30 days we will re-evaluate and make an appt for a CatScan and see what that shows up. Today is a good day although I find the meds make me tired but I'm prepared for that. No flare ups and I hope the meds keep a lid on it for now. i should mention I am a 58 year old female in good health and have never experienced any type of neuropathy myself.

I'm really looking forward to be part of this forum, and supporting you and learning from you. A special shout out to the Canadians, I live in Ontario near the Bay of Quinte.

Hi Foxboro

We are practically neighbours...I live just east of Cobourg.