My experience with the PainShield --- from a Newbie Member

I am a newbie on the site, but wanted to give you some info on my experience with the Pain Shield device. I have had TGN for about ten years, and it has gotten progressively more difficult to deal with. I have long periods of number ten pain, and have to drink my meals and grind up my food. Talking is hard, and my tongue can become painful to move. The pain in my right side of my face propagates to painful places like my lips and sometimes even my scalp. I believe that there is some dental nerve origin of this, because I have a bad bite on that side. However, years of going to dental surgeons and neurologists have said I have TGN> I have been approved for Gamma Knife and Vascular Decompression treatments, but I don't like the idea of either, plus they are no guarantee of success. I recently had a high resolution MRI and MRA and, frankly, though the surgeon thought he saw a place where cranial blood vessels were impinging on the nerve, I could not really see that in the imagery.

I Googled around and found the PainShield ads. I spent my own money on the device and a supply of transducers. It is basically a small electronic device that sends high frequency (ultrasound) signals to a transducer that you affix to your face overnight. The total cost of the device and a supply of facial transducers was about one thousand dollars. I bought it directly from the US distributor (it is an Israili made device). It is FDA approved.

The transducers have a gel adhesive and two connector points that hook to the wire to the device. The gel is not strong enough to hold the device when you are sleeping. They recommend using a stretchy bandage type thing around your head, but I found I got better results using stretchy medical tape. It peels off my face with no problems.