Glad to find support

So I am very new to this but I am thankful for sites like this to seek support. I have read a lot of your blogs and it is a relief to see that someone else can relate to how this feels. I was diagnosed with TN in July of 08. This has changed my life. I used to be such a happy person, you rarely saw me without a smile on my face. Since my diagnosis I have not been the same. I am currently taking Tegretol and it doesn’t seem to be working. I can not even count the number of episodes I have a day, too many. I am considering having Gamma Knife surgery but I do not know much, just what I have read on the internet. Does anyone have any personal experiences they would like to share as this would be very helpful.

Hi Lori,
Sorry you are having pain.
My treatments included several medications. I initially tried Lyrica for a week and it didn’t help and I became allergic before I could increase the dose. I started on tegretol and got almost total relief the first day. I stayed on it for about a year until I developed side effects. I then started on neurontin for about 2 years and a very low dose with a few increases about 4 or 5 times during that time. Then on Oct 20, 2008, the pain became uncontrollable. I increased my neurontin from 200 mg to 3600 mg by the end of Dec. I added narcotics; tried several and were allergic to most. I added Cymbalta but was allergic. I then started on trileptal and still take it, neurontin and tylenol 3. I tried ganglion nerve blocks (4) but they helped very little but did help me survive until I finally had surgery.