What I believe about my GPN

Hi all. I am always looking for reasons. I mean, why would a nice, healthy woman like me have a brain disease?

In 2004 I had reached the end of my rope emotionally. I am an ER trauma nurse, had just buried my Mother, was in a very unhappy marriage, and trying to raise teenage twin stepsons who <all of a sudden> seemed to hate me. I paid a visit to my PCP and asked for help. Coping skills. A magic bullet. Anything to help me cope and help my anxiety. I was started on Effexor XR. It was a God send. For a while.

After divorcing my husband and doing what I could to make me happy, I decided that the side affects of the Effexor were not worth it. I would get something called "Brain Shivers" if I was 2 or 3 hours late with my meds. Also, dizziness, and vertigo. and a few times near syncope. (almost fainting) I went on a 37 mg. decrease every week until I was finally done with the med. I never have experienced that kind of sick. Headache, nausea, vomiting, muscle aches, tremor. You would have thought I was tweaking off heroin or meth. Symptoms were terrible for several days and eventually subsided. I vowed to never take another drug that screwed with my head.

That same time period, I presented with severe dental pain. That was the beginning of my experience with the monster called GPN. Of course, I was not diagnosed until mid 2009. I luckily was finally referred to a top notch Endodontist who stated my teeth and gums were as healthy as any he had seen. He said, "I think you have Glossopharyngeal Neuralgia." The extraction of my right bottom molars, and excruciating posterior tongue pain were hallmark symptoms.

Doing research on Effexor, it seems that many, many people have struggled with the after effects of this medication. It has been taken off the market (at least the XR) recently and I am glad.

That is what I believe.

welcome and thanks for your story

Hi Tess,